Best IT Asset Management Software for Small IT Teams (2026): An Honest Comparison


IT asset management (ITAM) software keeps a record of every device an organization owns (laptops, monitors, phones, docks and the accessories around them) and of who has each one, where it is, what it cost and when it should be replaced. Some tools also find devices on the network by themselves and track software licenses.
What a small IT team should look for:
- How devices get into the system: typed in or imported from a spreadsheet, or found automatically by a network scan, an agent installed on each device, or a sync with your device management (MDM) tool such as Intune or Jamf.
- Hand-outs and returns: a record of who has each laptop, since when, and what has to come back when someone leaves.
- Loaner bookings: reservations for future dates, if you run a pool of spare laptops.
- Accessories: chargers, docks and headsets either grouped with the laptop or counted as stock.
- Software licenses: seats, renewals and who uses what, if that is part of your job.
- Sign-in and directory: single sign-on (SSO) and user sync with Entra ID, Google Workspace or Okta.
- A price that fits 100 to 2,000 devices: per device, per user, per technician (agent) or flat per workspace makes a large difference at this size.
Most "best ITAM software" lists are written by one of the vendors, who rank themselves first on every line. We make Shelf, so we have a perspective too. But several tools below do things Shelf does not do at all, such as network discovery and license tracking, and we say so plainly. The goal is to help you pick the right tool for your team, even if it is not ours.
Every competitor price and plan limit below comes from that vendor's own public pages, opened on 2026-10-29 and linked in each section. Where a vendor's page does not say something, we write "not on pricing page" rather than guess. Every Shelf claim was checked against Shelf's public source code on the same day.
Two Kinds of IT Asset Tool
Small IT teams usually end up choosing between two kinds of tool, and knowing which one you need removes half the list.
1. Discovery and service desk suites find devices on your network or through an agent, record installed software, and often sit next to a ticketing system. They answer "what is on our network and what is installed on it?" Tools: Lansweeper, Freshservice
2. Asset registers with check-out hold a record for every device, label it with a QR code or barcode, and track who has it, where it is and when it is due back. They answer "who has laptop 214 and is it coming back?" Several of them also sync from Intune or Jamf so you do not type devices in by hand. Tools: Snipe-IT, Reftab, EZO, AssetTiger, Asset Panda, itemit, Shelf, and Sortly (an inventory app that some small teams use for devices)
Many teams use one of each: discovery for the network, a register for the physical hand-outs. If you mainly need to know what software is installed where, start with the first group. If you mainly lose track of who has which laptop, charger and loaner, start with the second.

Quick Comparison
Prices and plan facts are from each vendor's own pricing or product page as of 2026-10-29. SaaS pricing changes, so check the vendor's site before you decide. "Not on pricing page" means the vendor's page we checked does not say, not that the feature is missing.
| Feature | Shelf | Snipe-IT | Reftab | EZO | AssetTiger | Asset Panda | itemit | Sortly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free option | Yes (1 user, unlimited assets) | Yes (self-hosted, unlimited) | Yes (50 assets) | 14-day trial | 30-day trialThe trial covers up to 250 assets and 2 users. There is no ongoing free plan on the pricing page. | 7-day trial | 14-day trial | Yes (100 items, 1 user) |
| Starting paid price | $67/mo or $370/yr (Team) | $39.99/mo or $399.99/yr (hosted) | $125/mo (hardware)The pricing page does not say how many assets the $125 plan covers. | $81.41/mo (500 items)Shown with the yearly toggle selected. The same page's FAQ says starting prices are for 100 tracked items. | $20/mo (500 assets) | Quote only | £399/yr (1,000 assets, up to 3 users) | $49/mo list (500 items, 2 users)Shown as $24/mo with a first-year discount on annual billing; later years get a smaller discount. |
| Priced by | Flat per workspace | Hosting plan | Assets; software users for license tracking | Item count | Asset count | Quote | Asset count and plan | Item and user caps per plan |
| Users | Unlimited on Team | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited (fair use policy) | Unlimited on paid plans | Not on pricing page | 1–3 on Starter, unlimited on Pro | 1 to 8, by plan |
| Open source / self-host | ||||||||
| Check-out with history | Listed, plan not stated | |||||||
| Loaner reservations | Team plan | Requests only | Yes, incl. free | Yes, all plans | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not on pricing page |
| Kits (laptop + charger + dock) | Yes, all plans | Predefined kits | Not on pricing page | Bundles | Not on pricing page | Not on pages checked | Yes | Not on pricing page |
| Software license tracking | Separate plan | Not on pricing page | Not on pricing page | Not on pages checked | Not on pages checked | Not on pricing page | ||
| Depreciation | Not on pricing page | Listed | Not on pricing page | |||||
| MDM sync (Intune, Jamf) | Intune, Jamf, Kandji and more | Intune, Jamf, Iru | Not on pricing page | Not on pricing page | Intune, Jamf, Kandji | Not on pages checked | Not on pricing page | |
| Help desk integration | Jira | Jira | Zendesk, Jira (Premium) | Not on pricing page | ServiceNow, Zendesk, Freshservice | Not on pages checked | Not on pricing page | |
| SSO / directory | SAML + SCIM add-on (Team) | SAML, LDAP, SCIM | Not on pricing page | LDAP and SAML (Premium) | Google SSO | Okta, Entra ID integrations | Active DirectoryIncluded on Industrial, or a £699/yr add-on on Pro. | SSO listed, plan not stated |
| API | API docs published | Advanced and up | Paid plans | Webhooks listed | IndustrialOr a £699/yr add-on on Pro. | Enterprise | ||
| Native mobile app | iOS + Android (free) | Official app in beta | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android | iOS + Android |
| Best for | Hand-outs, loaners and accessories on a flat price | IT lifecycle with a sysadmin to host it | IT teams wanting MDM sync and unlimited users | IT plus operations, help desk on Premium | Low-cost register priced by assets | Heavily customized workflows | UK teams, RFID and GPS | Simple visual inventory |
Discovery and service desk suites
These two are a different kind of product, so they get their own table.
| Feature | Lansweeper | Freshservice |
|---|---|---|
| Free option | 14-day trial, then free up to 100 assets | 14-day trial |
| Starting price | From €270/mo, billed annuallyStarter includes 2,000 assets. The page showed prices in euros when we checked. | From $125/mo per 500 asset unitsExtra asset units on top of a service desk plan. Growth ($49 per agent per month, billed annually) and higher include 100 asset units; Starter includes none. |
| Priced by | Plan with an asset allowance | Agents plus asset units (a laptop counts as 1) |
| Self-host / on-premises | On-premises install on Windows | Not on pricing page |
| Network and agent discovery | ||
| MDM connectors | SCCM, Intune, Airwatch, G-Suite MDM | Not on pricing page |
| Software license management | Not on pricing page | Pro and Enterprise |
| Check-out and loaner reservations | Not on pricing page | Not on pricing page |
| Users | Unlimited user seats | Priced per agent (technician) |
What 1,000 Devices Costs at Published Prices
A worked example helps more than a list of starting prices. Say you look after 1,000 devices and five people in IT need to sign in. These are the published prices for that size as of 2026-10-29, before any add-ons, discounts or taxes.
| Tool | Plan that fits | Published price |
|---|---|---|
| Shelf | Team (unlimited users and assets) | $370/yr, or $67/mo |
| Snipe-IT | Self-hosted, or Basic Hosting | Free, or $399.99/yr |
| AssetTiger | Core (2,500 assets) | $40/mo, billed monthly |
| itemit | Starter (up to 1,000 assets, 1 to 3 users) or Pro (unlimited users) | £399/yr or £1,599/yr |
| Sortly | Ultra (2,000 items, 5 users) | $149/mo list; $888/yr in the first year on annual billing |
| Reftab | Hardware Asset Management | $125/mo; the asset count it covers is not stated |
| Freshservice | Growth service desk for 5 agents, plus 2 packs of 500 asset units | $495/mo at the starting rates (5 × $49 agents billed annually, plus 2 × $125 unit packs) |
| Lansweeper | Starter (includes 2,000 assets) | From €270/mo, billed annually |
| EZO | Above 500 items | Quote ("Let's Talk") |
| Asset Panda | Any | Quote only |
Three things this table does not show. Five IT staff on itemit's Starter plan is over its 3-user limit, so Pro is the realistic itemit plan. Sortly's Ultra plan has 5 user licenses, so nobody outside the IT team could sign in. And the Freshservice figure works like this: 1,000 laptops use 1,000 asset units; the Growth plan includes 100, so the other 900 need two 500-unit packs; Starter ($19 per agent) includes no asset units, so Growth is the cheapest plan that does.
The Tools
Shelf
What it is: An open-source asset tracking platform built around QR labels, check-out and custody, loaner bookings and kits. Shelf is what we make, so read this section with that in mind. It covers the physical side of IT: devices handed to people, lent out and returned.
Strengths:
- One flat price for unlimited users and assets: the Team plan is $67 a month or $370 a year for the whole workspace. Staff who borrow loaners can have their own sign-in without adding cost.
- Hand-outs and returns with history: every device records who has it and since when. When someone leaves, you can list everything assigned to them and release each item as it comes back. Custody is on every plan, including Free.
- Loaner bookings: reserve a laptop for set dates and Shelf blocks overlapping bookings. Bookings are on the Team plan. See Bookings.
- Kits and accessory stock: group a laptop with its charger and dock as a kit on any plan. Track interchangeable chargers, dongles and cables by quantity, with a low-stock email to the owner and admins when stock runs low.
- Phone scanning: the free Shelf Companion app is on the App Store and Google Play for scanning, custody and booking check-in and check-out. See the mobile app.
- Warranty and refresh reminders: store a warranty end date as a custom field and set an asset reminder for it. Repeating reminders are on Plus, Team and Enterprise.
- Open source: the code is public under the AGPL license. See open-source asset management.
Limitations: where other tools are better for IT:
- No network discovery or agents. Shelf does not scan your network or install anything on devices. You add devices by CSV import (Plus plan and up) or by hand. Lansweeper and Freshservice do discovery.
- No MDM sync. There is no Intune, Jamf or Kandji connection, so a new device in your MDM does not appear in Shelf by itself. Snipe-IT, Reftab and Asset Panda list these syncs.
- No software license tracking. Shelf tracks physical things, not seats or subscriptions. Snipe-IT, Reftab's software plan and Freshservice Pro do this.
- No help desk integration. There is no Jira, Zendesk or ServiceNow connector.
- No depreciation. Shelf stores what a device is worth, but does not calculate depreciation. Snipe-IT, AssetTiger, itemit and Asset Panda do.
- No public API. Shelf does not publish an API for your own scripts or other tools.
- Self-hosting takes work. Self-hosting uses a community-maintained Docker setup and needs your own Supabase instance. Snipe-IT's self-hosted version is the more established route.
- Paid add-ons for IT basics: SSO (SAML, with SCIM user provisioning included) is an add-on on the Team plan, priced per person who signs in with SSO, from $9 per user per month on annual billing for the first 15 users. Scan audits are an add-on at $37 a month or $205 a year. Keeping existing barcode labels needs the Alternative Barcodes add-on.
Best for: Small IT teams whose real problem is physical: who has each laptop, which loaners are out, and whether the charger came back. It also suits teams that track non-IT equipment in the same place.
Pricing: Free (1 user, unlimited assets) → Plus $34/mo or $190/yr (1 user, adds CSV import, reports and repeating reminders) → Team $67/mo or $370/yr (unlimited users, bookings) → Enterprise (custom). See pricing →
How Shelf handles IT asset tracking →
Snipe-IT
What it is: The best-known open-source IT asset management system, built for IT departments. Its own README describes it as knowing who has which laptop, when it was purchased so it can be depreciated, and handling software licenses.
Strengths:
- Free to self-host, with no asset or user limits: the pricing page lists the self-hosted version as free with unlimited users and assets, and the code is AGPL-3.0 on GitHub.
- Deep IT lifecycle features: license management, depreciation, accessories, consumables and components, plus audits and asset history.
- MDM and directory sync: the features page lists 20 sync adapters, including Microsoft Intune, Jamf, Kandji, Google Workspace and NinjaOne, plus Active Directory/LDAP sync, SAML SSO and SCIM provisioning.
- REST API and integrations: a documented JSON REST API, a Jira integration, and Slack and Teams notifications.
- Kits: predefined kits for faster check-outs.
- Hosted option: if you do not want to run a server, Basic Hosting is $39.99/mo or $399.99/yr with unlimited users and assets.
Limitations:
- No calendar reservations: assets can be marked "requestable" so users ask for them, but the features page does not list future-date bookings. Loaner pools with set dates need a workaround or a community add-on.
- Self-hosting is yours to run: the free version comes with community support only. Email support starts with paid hosting.
- Mobile app still in beta: the official mobile app is in beta (TestFlight on iOS, Google Play on Android), and third-party apps fill the gap.
Best for: IT teams with someone who can run a server, or with $400 a year for hosting, who want licenses, depreciation and MDM sync in one free or low-cost tool.
Pricing: Self-hosted free → Basic Hosting $39.99/mo or $399.99/yr → Small Business Hosting $99.99/mo or $999.99/yr → Dedicated Hosting $249.99/mo or $2,499.99/yr. Sources: pricing, features, README, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs Snipe-IT comparison →

Reftab
What it is: A cloud IT asset management tool with separate plans for hardware and for software. It charges by assets (and by software users for license tracking), with unlimited users.
Strengths:
- Free for up to 50 assets, with no time limit, including reservations with calendars, check-out, barcodes and QR codes, and the iOS and Android apps.
- MDM and help desk integrations on the hardware plan: Intune, Jamf, Iru and Jira, plus "30+ more", along with audits, maintenance and work orders, and reservations.
- Unlimited users on every plan.
- Software asset management as its own plan: SaaS and installed-software discovery, license and user tracking, and spend, at $9 per tracked software user per year.
- Accessories and licenses do not count as assets, and archived assets do not count toward the quota, according to the pricing FAQ.
Limitations:
- The hardware price does not say how many assets it covers. The page shows $125/mo but no asset count, so you need to ask for a quote at 1,000 or 2,000 devices.
- Hardware plus software is custom-priced ("Complete ITAM").
- Cloud only: no self-hosted option is listed.
Best for: Small IT teams that want MDM sync, reservations and unlimited users in a cloud tool, and may add license tracking later.
Pricing: Free (50 assets) → Hardware Asset Management $125/mo → Software Asset Management $9 per tracked software user per year → Complete ITAM (custom). 14-day trial on paid plans. Source: reftab.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs Reftab comparison →
EZO (EZOfficeInventory)
What it is: An asset tracking and maintenance platform, now sold as EZO EAM, priced by the number of items you track, with unlimited users.
Strengths:
- Reservations on every plan, with an availability calendar.
- Unlimited users on Essential, Advanced and Premium, under a fair use policy.
- Help desk and directory on Premium: Zendesk, Jira, Google Workspace, and LDAP and SAML.
- API access from the Advanced plan up, and iOS and Android apps.
- Maintenance: service records from Advanced; a CMMS add-on for preventive maintenance and work orders, priced separately by admin user.
Limitations:
- Price depends on item count, and the page contradicts itself: the cards show Essential at $81.41/mo, Advanced at $117.11/mo and Premium at $142.10/mo, each "based on 500 items", while the FAQ says starting prices are for 100 tracked items. Above that, it is "Let's Talk".
- No MDM or license tracking on the pricing page: Intune, Jamf and software licenses are not listed there.
- The CMMS add-on price is not published.
Best for: Teams that run IT and other equipment together, want unlimited users, and will pay for Premium to connect Zendesk or Jira.
Pricing: Essential $81.41/mo → Advanced $117.11/mo → Premium $142.10/mo (each "based on 500 items", yearly toggle shown) → Enterprise (custom). 14-day trial, no credit card. Source: ezo.io pricing, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs EZOfficeInventory comparison →
AssetTiger
What it is: A low-cost cloud asset register priced only by asset count, with unlimited users on paid plans.
Strengths:
- Low published prices by asset count: Basic $20/mo for 500 assets, Core $40/mo for 2,500, Advanced $75/mo for 10,000.
- Same features on every paid plan: check-in and check-out with due dates and overdue alerts, reservations, maintenance scheduling, audits, depreciation, contracts and warranties, 80+ report types.
- REST API, 2FA and Google SSO on paid plans, plus iOS and Android apps.
Limitations:
- No ongoing free plan: the free option is a 30-day trial for up to 250 assets and 2 users.
- No MDM, help desk or license tracking on the pricing page. For SSO, only Google is listed.
Best for: Small teams that want a cheap, complete asset register and can enter devices by import rather than MDM sync.
Pricing: 30-day trial (250 assets) → Basic $20/mo (500 assets) → Core $40/mo (2,500) → Advanced $75/mo (10,000) → Pro $140/mo (50,000) → Enterprise $275/mo (250,000), billed monthly; yearly billing gives one month free. Source: assettiger.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs AssetTiger comparison →

Asset Panda
What it is: A configurable asset management platform that sells through custom quotes.
Strengths:
- Long integration list for IT: Jamf Pro and Jamf School, Microsoft Intune, Kandji, Apple Business Manager, ServiceNow, Zendesk, Freshservice, Okta, Microsoft Entra ID, Google Workspace, Dell Warranty and Lenovo, among others.
- IT workflows: assignments, check-outs, transfers, returns and chain-of-custody history, plus reservation management and depreciation.
- iOS and Android app for mobile audits.
Limitations:
- No published price: the pricing page offers "a clear, custom quote" and a pricing guide form, so you cannot compare cost without talking to sales.
- Short trial: 7 days.
Best for: Teams that need many integrations and custom workflows and are comfortable with a sales process.
Pricing: Quote only; 7-day free trial. Sources: pricing, integrations, home page, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs Asset Panda comparison →
itemit
What it is: A UK asset tracking platform with QR, barcode, RFID and GPS tracking, priced in pounds by asset count and plan.
Strengths:
- Clear prices for up to 2,000 assets: Starter £399/yr (up to 1,000 assets), Pro £1,599/yr (up to 1,000 assets, unlimited users), Industrial £2,999/yr (up to 2,000 assets).
- Check-outs, bookings and kits: book assets in advance, and check out a whole kit with a single tap.
- Depreciation: straight-line or declining balance.
- RFID and GPS: handheld RFID readers and GPS trackers on Pro, fixed RFID readers on Industrial.
- iOS and Android apps that work offline.
Limitations:
- Starter caps users at 3, each paid per user.
- Active Directory and the API cost extra below Industrial: each is a £699/yr add-on on Pro.
- No MDM or help desk integrations on the pages we checked. Integrations listed are Xero, Slack and Microsoft Active Directory.
Best for: UK teams that also track equipment outside IT, or that want RFID or GPS.
Pricing: Starter £33.25/mo or £399/yr → Pro £133.25/mo or £1,599/yr → Industrial from £249.92/mo or £2,999/yr, excluding VAT. 14-day trial, no card. Sources: itemit pricing, home page, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs itemit comparison →
Sortly
What it is: Inventory software for small businesses. It describes itself as "Simple Inventory Management Software", and some small IT teams use it to catalog devices.
Strengths:
- Easy start: a free plan for 100 items and 1 user, and iOS and Android apps that work offline.
- Custom fields on every plan: 1 on Free, rising to 20 on Premium.
Limitations:
- User caps on every plan: 2 users on Advanced, 5 on Ultra, 8 on Premium. For most IT teams, end users could not sign in.
- Not built for IT: the pricing page does not list reservations, MDM sync, license tracking or depreciation.
- List prices are higher than the first-year price: the 50% discount applies to the first year of a new annual subscription.
Best for: Very small teams cataloging a few hundred devices where only IT needs to sign in.
Pricing: Free (100 items, 1 user) → Advanced $49/mo list (500 items, 2 users) → Ultra $149/mo list (2,000 items, 5 users) → Premium $299/mo list (5,000 items, 8 users) → Enterprise (quote). Source: sortly.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-29.
Read full Shelf vs Sortly comparison →
Lansweeper
What it is: An IT discovery platform. It scans your network, cloud and operational technology (OT), and can use an agent, to build an inventory of every device and what runs on it.
Strengths:
- Discovery is the product: IT, OT, cloud and agent discovery, plus connectors that import from SCCM, Intune, Airwatch and G-Suite MDM, and automatic warranty collection.
- Unlimited user seats on every plan, and SSO from Starter.
- Free tier: after a 14-day full trial, you can continue free for up to 100 assets.
- Runs on your own server if you want: Lansweeper can be installed on-premises on a Windows machine, with the scanning service, database and web console on the same computer or split across several. The pricing page counts installations per plan (1 on Starter, up to 3 on Pro).
Limitations:
- Built to find devices, not to lend them: the pricing page lists no check-out, custody or loaner reservations.
- Priced for larger estates: Starter is from €270/mo billed annually and includes 2,000 assets. Starter only connects to service desks for ticket enrichment; other integrations need Pro.
- Full API access is Enterprise only.
Best for: IT teams that need to know everything on the network, including devices nobody registered, and can pair it with a register for hand-outs.
Pricing: Free (up to 100 assets, after a 14-day trial) → Starter from €270/mo (2,000 assets) → Pro from €474/mo (2,000, expandable to 9,000) → Enterprise (custom, from 10,000), all billed annually. Sources: lansweeper.com/pricing, on-premises install guide, as of 2026-10-29.
Freshservice
What it is: An IT service management (ITSM) suite: a help desk with IT asset management alongside it. Asset management is priced by "asset units" based on what is in its configuration database (CMDB).
Strengths:
- Discovery and CMDB: agent-based and agentless discovery for Windows, Mac and Linux, network and cloud discovery, and a CMDB from the Growth plan.
- Software licenses and contracts on Pro: software asset and license management, SaaS discovery, and contracts and purchase orders.
- Help desk in the same product, if you also need ticketing.
- Laptops are cheap in asset units: a desktop, laptop or mobile device counts as 1 unit, and a physical asset without an IP address counts as 1/25 of a unit.
Limitations:
- Two prices to add up: the service desk is $19, $49 or $99 per agent per month billed annually (Starter, Growth, Pro). Growth, Pro and Enterprise include the asset management Growth package with 100 asset units; Starter does not. More units cost from $125/mo per pack of 500. For 1,000 laptops and 5 IT agents on Growth, that is 5 × $49 plus 2 × $125, or $495 a month at the starting rates. The asset management page does not say whether it can be bought without a service desk plan.
- No check-out or loaner reservations on the pricing pages.
Best for: IT teams that want ticketing, discovery and license management in one suite and will pay per technician.
Pricing: Service desk Starter $19, Growth $49, Pro $99 per agent per month billed annually (Growth and up include 100 asset units); extra asset units from $125/mo per 500; 14-day trial. Sources: service desk pricing, asset management pricing, as of 2026-10-29.
Which Tool Fits Your Situation?

If you need to know what is on your network
Your priorities: finding devices nobody registered, seeing installed software, and spotting devices that need patching.
- Discovery first: Lansweeper. It is built for scanning, with a free tier up to 100 assets and Starter from €270/mo for 2,000.
- Discovery plus help desk: Freshservice, if you also want ticketing and can pay per technician.
- If your MDM already knows every device: a register that syncs from it (Snipe-IT, Reftab or Asset Panda) may be enough without separate discovery.
If you run loaners, onboarding and offboarding
Your priorities: who has each laptop, which loaners are out and when they are due back, and what a leaver has to return.
- Flat price, unlimited users: Shelf. Custody history on every plan, loaner bookings with conflict checks on Team ($370/yr), kits for laptop, charger and dock, and accessory stock with low-stock emails.
- Same jobs plus MDM sync: Reftab. Reservations even on the free plan, and Intune and Jamf on the hardware plan.
- Lowest published price per asset: AssetTiger. Reservations and check-out with due dates on every paid plan.
If you have a sysadmin and little budget
Your priorities: a free or near-free tool, depth over polish, and someone who can run a server.
- Best overall: Snipe-IT. It is free to self-host, with licenses, depreciation, LDAP, SAML and MDM sync, or $399.99/yr hosted.
- If you also want calendar loaner bookings: run Shelf next to it, or choose a register with reservations built in.
If you already run a help desk
Your priorities: assets linked to tickets, so a technician sees the laptop on the ticket.
- Already on Freshservice: use its own asset management.
- On Jira: Snipe-IT and Reftab both list a Jira integration.
- On Zendesk or ServiceNow: EZO lists Zendesk on Premium; Asset Panda lists Zendesk, ServiceNow and Freshservice.
- Shelf has no help desk integration.
If IT also looks after non-IT equipment
Your priorities: AV gear, tools or lab equipment in the same system as laptops, and people outside IT borrowing it.
- Bookings and kits for anyone: Shelf. One flat price for unlimited users and assets. See our equipment management guide.
- RFID or GPS needed: itemit.
- Maintenance work orders needed: EZO's CMMS add-on, or Reftab's hardware plan.
What We'd Choose If We Didn't Make Shelf
If we were buying as a small IT team, not as a competitor, here is where we would land:
- With a sysadmin who can host it, we would start with Snipe-IT. It is free, its license and depreciation tracking go further than anything else on this page at that price, and it syncs from the common MDM tools.
- For a cloud tool with MDM sync and no per-user fees, we would trial Reftab, after asking how many assets the $125 plan covers.
- For "what is actually on our network", we would add Lansweeper, whatever register we used.
- For ticketing, discovery and licenses in one place, we would look at Freshservice and budget per technician plus asset units: about $495 a month for 5 agents and 1,000 laptops at its starting rates.
We built Shelf for teams whose problem is physical: devices that change hands, loaners that need booking, chargers that walk away. For that job, with unlimited users on one flat price, we think it is the best option. If your problem is discovery, licenses or tickets, one of the tools above is the better answer.
How to Decide
Before you trial anything, answer four questions:
- How do devices get into the system? If you want them to appear by themselves, you need discovery (Lansweeper, Freshservice) or an MDM sync (Snipe-IT, Reftab, Asset Panda). If a CSV import and a QR label per device is fine, every tool on this page works.
- Do you track software licenses? If yes, your shortlist is Snipe-IT, Reftab's software plan or Freshservice Pro. Shelf does not track licenses.
- Who needs to sign in? If staff outside IT book loaners or confirm hand-outs, rule out tools with low user caps (Sortly, itemit Starter) and per-technician pricing for those users. Shelf Team, Snipe-IT, Reftab, EZO, AssetTiger and Lansweeper all list unlimited users.
- Who runs it? Three tools here can run on your own server: Snipe-IT (free to self-host), Shelf (a community-maintained Docker setup that needs your own Supabase instance) and Lansweeper (an on-premises install on Windows). Someone has to maintain that server. The other tools on this page did not list a self-hosted option on the pages we checked.
Every tool on this page offers a free plan or a trial; Asset Panda's is the shortest at 7 days. Trial the two or three that match your answers with 20 real devices, a few hand-outs and one return, and decide on that.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is IT asset management software?
IT asset management software keeps a record of the devices an organization owns, such as laptops, monitors and phones, and of who has each one, where it is, what it cost and when it should be replaced. Some tools add network discovery, software license tracking or a help desk.
What is the difference between IT asset tracking and IT asset management?
IT asset tracking follows physical devices: who has them, where they are and whether they came back. IT asset management is broader and also covers purchasing, contracts, software licenses, depreciation and disposal, often with discovery agents. Shelf does the tracking side; Snipe-IT, Reftab and Freshservice also cover licenses.
Is there free IT asset management software?
Yes. Snipe-IT is free if you host it yourself, with no asset or user limits. Shelf is free for one user with unlimited assets. Reftab is free for up to 50 assets, Sortly for 100 items and one user, and Lansweeper for up to 100 assets after its trial. AssetTiger now offers a 30-day trial rather than a free plan.
How much does IT asset management software cost for a small team?
It depends on the pricing model. For 1,000 devices at published prices on 2026-10-29: Shelf Team is $370 a year for unlimited users, Snipe-IT hosting is $399.99 a year, AssetTiger Core is $40 a month, Lansweeper Starter is from €270 a month billed annually, and Freshservice is about $495 a month for 5 Growth agents plus two 500-unit asset packs. Asset Panda and EZO above 500 items are quote-based.
Do I need network discovery for a small IT team?
Not always. Discovery finds devices and software on your network without typing them in, which matters if devices appear without IT knowing. If every device goes through your MDM, a register that syncs from Intune or Jamf may be enough. If you hand devices out from a stockroom, a CSV import and QR labels also work.
Can Shelf replace Snipe-IT?
For hand-outs, loaner bookings, kits and accessory stock, yes. For software licenses, depreciation, MDM sync or an API, no: Snipe-IT does those and Shelf does not. See Shelf vs Snipe-IT for the full comparison.
Last updated: October 2026. Competitor facts were checked on each vendor's site on 2026-10-29. If you notice something that has changed or is wrong, let us know.
Shelf is one of the tools compared on this page. We have tried to be fair, but we built one of these products. Read our competitors' pages too.
Ready to organize your assets?
Join thousands of teams who trust Shelf to manage their physical assets. Free forever, or try the Team plan free for 7 days.
Out in the field? Shelf Companion is free on iPhone & Android.
More from the blog
Asset Panda Pricing in 2026: Plans, Minimums and What It Really Costs
Asset Panda no longer lists prices on its website. Here is every figure we could source and date: its last public price list, third-party reports, seat minimums, extra users, onboarding, and worked totals for three real team shapes.
Asset Register Template (Excel) and Equipment Inventory List
A free fixed asset register template in Excel with straight-line depreciation formulas, plus an equipment inventory list in Excel and CSV that imports into Shelf. What a register must contain, how to fill it in a day, and when a spreadsheet stops being enough.

Asset Tags: Types, Materials, Numbering and Placement
What an asset tag is and what it must carry, tag types and materials compared, a numbering format with check digits, where to put tags on laptops, cameras, tripods, tools, chairs and vehicles, and what government property tags require.